Ireland included in Sevens squad for XVs Dubai

Ireland XV frontliners Eve Higgins, Stacy Flood, Beibeen Parsons and Amy-Leigh Murphy Crowe have all been included in the Ireland women’s squad for this week’s Dubai Sevens.

Lucy Mulhall is back in the small game after being part of the team’s World Cup qualification disappointment.

Uncapped youngster Erin King has been added to the panel nominated by Anthony Eddy and new head coach Aiden McNulty who will take charge over the next two weekends against Great Britain, Fiji and Canada in the first of two consecutive tournaments.

The men and women of Ireland will return to the World Series at the Emirates, with Leinster’s Liam Turner and Niall Comerford and Jude Postlethwaite added to the sevens specialists on the men’s side of the house.

Eddie and James Topping named six Olympians in their squad, which included Jack Kelly, Mark Roche, Brian Mollen, Hugo Lennox and Terry Kennedy along with captain Billy Dardis.

The men’s team will take on South Africa, Great Britain and Japan in their pool.

Both sides begin their action on Friday morning and games can be streamed on the World Rugby Sevens Series website and IRFU social media channels.

Ireland Women’s Sevens Team: Kathy Baker (BlackRock College RFC), Claire Boles (Railway Union RFC), Brittany Hogan (DCU RFC/Old Belvedere RFC), Erin King (Old Belvedere RFC), Katie Heffernan (Mullinger RFC/Railway Union RFC)

Stacy Flood (Railway Union RFC), Iobin Reilly (BlackRock College RFC), Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC) (Captain), Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC)

Kate Farrell McCabe (Sutnion RFC), Beibin Parsons (BlackRock College RFC), Amy-Lay Murphy Crowe (Railway Union RFC), Megan Burns (BlackRock College RFC)

Ireland Men’s Sevens Squad: Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC), Liam Turner (Dublin University FC/Leinster), Mark Roche (Lansdowne FC), Zack Ward (Ballynahinch RFC), Brian Mollen (Blackrock College RFC), Billy Dardis (Terrineur College RFC) (Captain) , Sean Cribbin (Sutnion RFC), Hugo Lennox (Skerries RFC), Aaron O’Sullivan (BlackRock College RFC), Terry Kennedy (St Mary’s College RFC), Niall Comerford (UCD RFC/Leinster), Ed Kelly (Dublin University FC) ), Jude Postlethwaite (Bainbridge RFC/Ulster).

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *