Wicklow rugby players hoping to light up Dubai with Ireland Sevens team this weekend

Two Company Wicklow rugby players have been named to the Ireland women’s sevens squad ahead of the opening round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022 in Dubai this weekend.

The national team will be captained by Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC) of Crossbridge, while Blessington’s Erin King (Old Belvedere) is an uncapped player, having won the 13-player side of Anthony Eddy after impressing at last year’s Under-18 Women’s Interprovincial Championship. panel has been created.

The IRFU’s Director of Women’s and Sevens Rugby, Anthony Eddy, has selected two 13-player panels for the start of the new season, as the World Series begins with the first of two tournaments at The Sevens Stadium in Dubai from 26- and is going on. 27 November.

Mulhall and King will be joined by the likes of Stacy Flood, Amy-Leigh Murphy Crowe and Eve Higgins as Ireland, under the guidance of Eddie and incoming head coach, Aiden McNulty, begin their 2022 campaign against Fiji in Pool B on Friday morning . (9.22 a.m. local time/5.22 a.m. Irish time).

The Irish women will face neighboring Great Britain (12.34 pm local time/8.34 pm Irish time) and Canada (6.07 pm local time/2.07 pm Irish time). Final first round clash on Saturday (9.44 a.m. local time/5.44 a.m. Irish time).

Ireland Women’s Sevens Team:

Kathy Baker (BlackRock College RFC)

Claire Boles (Railway Union RFC)

Brittany Hogan (Ballynahinch RFC/Old Belvedere RFC)

Erin King (Old Belvedere RFC)

Katie Heffernan (Mullinger RFC/Railway Union RFC)

Stacy Flood (Railway Union RFC)

Iobin Reilly (BlackRock College RFC)

Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC) (Captain)

Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC)

Kate Farrell McCabe (Sutnion RFC)

Beibin Parsons (BlackRock College RFC)

Amy-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union RFC)

Megan Burns (BlackRock College RFC)

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *